How it works
Your client can invite you to share access to their PocketSmith account so you can both manage and perform actions on the same account while maintaining separate logins. As a Collaborator, you will have full permissions and can perform all the same account tasks that your client can.
To enable the Collaborators feature, an invitation must be sent from the user's (the client's) account to you. Both parties must have a PocketSmith account for the Collaborators feature to work.
You will receive the invitation via email, asking if you would like to accept or decline Collaborator access.
Once accepted, you will need to sign in to your own PocketSmith account, where you will now have access to your client's account from your account profile (in the top right corner) under Shared accounts.
Tip
You can create a free account in order to accept Collaborate access on a clients' account, with no need to add any bank accounts or data to that free account.
For further details, see Creating a free account for Collaborators
Note
It's not currently possible for someone with Collaborator access to manage another user's account via the mobile app. You will need to use the web app in order to make use of this feature.
Instructions for the client: Setting up Collaborator access
Important
Anyone with Collaborator access enabled on your account will have full permissions and can do everything you can.
Here are the steps designed for the client to invite you (the financial advisor) to have Collaborator access on their account.
Share these with your clients to help them get set up!
- Head to Profile menu > Your collaborators
- Choose Invite a collaborator from the side panel
- Enter the email address of your advisor and click Send invite
- Your advisor will receive an email from PocketSmith, inviting them to access your account using the Collaborators feature
Instructions for your client: Revoking Collaborators access
Your client should also be shown how they can revoke your access if necessary.
- Head to Profile menu > Your collaborators
- Select Revoke Access beside the user you'd like to no longer have access to your PocketSmith account
- In the modal that appears, select OK
Instructions for the advisor: Accepting the invitation and managing accounts
- Once you have received this invitation you will need to accept it by following the links in the email.
You will need a PocketSmith account to accept the invitation. There will be another link ("create one here") in the email that can be used to set up a PocketSmith account if you do not already have one:
- Once signed in, you will be taken to a page where where you can click Accept invitation
- You will now have access to the clients account via your Profile menu under Shared accounts.
- When you are managing a clients account, the profile menu will display a message indicating you are managing another account. You can return to your own account by selecting 'Return to your account' at the top of the profile menu:
Creating a free account for Collaborators
If you'd like to use PocketSmith solely for the purpose of using shared access, you can create a free account, with no need to add any bank accounts or data.
If you don't set anything else up in your free account, any users you have been invited to manage (and that you have accepted) will appear on the Welcome page.
