Ask AI Assistant
Learn Centre
Learn to use PocketSmith

Deleting or merging categories

Learn how to delete or merge your categories and some tips to be aware of.

Deleting or merging a category

When deleting a category you have the option to assign all of its transactions, budgets, category rules and associated filters to another category.

  1. Head to Manage Categories (Categorise > Manage Categories)
  1. Hover your mouse over the category you want to delete, click on the three-dot menu and select Delete
  1. You can then choose to re-assign all the transactions and budgets in this category to a new category before deleting. If you'd like to do this, select a new category from the drop-down menu, then click Delete category.
Notion image
❗

Alert

If you choose not to reassign the transactions, budgets, category rules and associated filters from a deleted category to a new one, all its transactions will become uncategorised, and the budgets will be deleted.

🚨

Warning

If you choose to reassign to a category that already has budgets set up, this can lead to multiple budgets on a category, which we do not generally recommend. You can delete or move the additional budgets if needed.

Bulk deleting categories

If you have a whole stack of categories that you no longer want to keep, you can delete them in bulk on the Categories page.

  1. Head to Manage Categories (Categorise > Manage Categories)
  1. Select the checkbox beside the category that you would like to delete
  1. Click Delete from the toolbar and then click YES.
Notion image
 
❗

Alert

Choosing this option means these categories and all their budgets will be removed. All transactions assigned to these categories will be uncategorised.

 
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩